Coppola, Jia selected for 9-member Cannes jury

PARIS (AP) — American director Sofia Coppola and China's Jia Zhangke have been selected among the nine members of the Cannes film festival jury.

The Riviera festival's organizers announced Monday four men and four women who will select the honorees at the May 14-25 event alongside this year's president, New Zealand director Jane Campion. Jia's "A Touch Of Sin" won Cannes' best screenplay prize last year. Coppola won a best screenplay Oscar for "Lost in Translation" in 2003.

Rounding out the jury are actress Carole Bouquet of France, American actor Willem Dafoe, actresses Leila Hatami of Iran and Jeon Do-yeon of South Korea, actor-director Gael Garcia Bernal of Mexico and Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn.

Eighteen films are vying for the top prize — the Palme d'Or.

Related Headlines

  • Leila Hatami, Sofia Coppola, Jane Campion, Jeon Do-yeon, Carole Bouquet

    CANNES WATCH: Campion blasts sexism in cinema

    Jane Campion, the only female director in Cannes Film Festival history to win the Palme d'Or, threw a punch at the male-dominated film industry during Cannes' inaugural jury ... 

  • Nicole Kidman, Lambert Wilson

    CANNES WATCH: Lively soars, Kidman talks lows

    The Associated Press is all over the Cannes Film Festival — from its glitzy premieres to the celeb parties and quirky moments in between. Here's what reporters have seen and ... 

  • Predicting the Palme d'Or a guessing game

    The Palme d'Or is cinema's answer to the papal conclave. The top award of the Cannes Film Festival isn't announced by a plume of white smoke, but its deliberations are ... 

  • Critics slam Gosling's 'Lost River' in Cannes

    Ryan Gosling debuted as a film director at the Cannes Film Festival with a stylish, theatrical fable that critics quickly slammed. The first screening of Gosling's "Lost ... 

Find your future job here