Zlatan, Neymar nominated for FIFA best goal award

ZURICH (AP) — Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Neymar are among 10 candidates for the Puskas Award honoring the best goal of the year.

Ibrahimovic was nominated for his long-range bicycle kick for Sweden against England in a friendly last November, which just missed the 2012 award entry deadline. Neymar was selected for his right-foot shot for Brazil against Japan in the Confederations Cup in June. Neymar, now with Barcelona, won the award two years ago for a solo goal for Santos.

Other nominees include Antonio Di Natale, for Udinese in a Serie A match against Chievo Verona in April, and Australian forward Lisa De Vanna for U.S. side Sky Blue against Boston Breakers in June. They were among several volleys and bicycle kicks dominating the list proposed by FIFA's football committee and France Football magazine.

Other nominees: Peter Ankersen (for Esbjerg vs. Aarhus in the Danish league); Panagiotis Kone (Bologna vs. Napoli, Serie A); Daniel Luduena (Pachuca vs. Tigres, Mexican league); Nemanja Matic (Benfica vs. Porto, Portuguese league); Louisa Necib (Lyon vs. Saint-Etienne, French women's league); Juan Manuel Olivera (Nautico vs. Recife, Copa Sudamericana).

Online voting until Dec. 9 will decides a short list of three finalists which advance to a final round of polling. The winner will be announced on Jan. 13 at the FIFA Ballon d'Or event in Zurich.

On The Web:

Related Headlines

  • Cristiano Ronaldo

    Ronaldo set to top Messi as world's best player

    Cristiano Ronaldo is heavily favored to end Lionel Messi's four-year reign as the world's best player at the FIFA Ballon d'Or gala on Monday. Ronaldo's prolific tally of 69 ... 

  • Messi, Ribery head Ballon d'Or nominees

    Lionel Messi, Franck Ribery, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Neymar are among 23 candidates on the short list for the Ballon d'Or announced by FIFA on Tuesday. Ribery, who ... 

  • Mohamed bin Hammam

    Blatter: No comment on Qatar 2022 payment claims

    FIFA President Sepp Blatter refused to comment on allegations linking Qatar's winning World Cup bid to payments received by voters. Blatter said at a news conference on Friday ... 

  • Lionel Messi

    Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA best player award

    Cristiano Ronaldo couldn't hide how much it meant to him, finally being voted the world's best player again. Having spent four years in the shadow of his great rival Lionel ...