More sports

Fog again postpones Olympic men's biathlon

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia (AP) — The men's 15-kilometer mass-start biathlon at the Olympics has been postponed for another day because of fog and is now set to start Tuesday at 2:30 p.m. (5:30 a.m. EST, 1030 GMT).

Organizers say a decision on the women's 12.5K mass start, which is scheduled to start at 7 p.m. (10 a.m. EST, 1500 GMT), is expected at 4 p.m. The men's race initially was delayed one hour and then postponed Sunday because fog made for poor visibility on the shooting range. It was reset for Monday at 10 a.m. (1 a.m. EST, 0600 GMT).

However, with fog still hanging over the course, organizers delayed the start for at least another 5½ hours before calling it off as conditions failed to improve.

Related Headlines

  • Thick fog causes delays at Sochi Olympics

    Thick fog lingering over the mountains Monday caused the biggest weather disruptions of the Sochi Olympics so far, with a biathlon race and a snowboard event both postponed ... 

  • Bjoerndalen sets record with Norway's relay win

    Ole Einar Bjoerndalen couldn't avoid being in the spotlight, certainly not after becoming the most decorated Winter Olympian of all time and receiving personal congratulations ... 

  • Friday's Highlights at the Sochi Olympics

    FRIDAY'S HIGHLIGHTS: OPENING CEREMONY The Sochi Olympics opened with a celebration of Russia's past greatness and hopes for future glory, especially for a group of athletes ... 

  • Martin Fourcade, Simon Fourcade

    Siblings give family feel to Sochi Olympics

    When Martin Fourcade won his first Olympic gold this week, the French biathlete got to celebrate in the finish area with the teammate he grew up trying to beat — older brother ... 

Find your future job here