Please enable JavaScript to experience the full functionality of

Clemson QB Lawrence leads AP preseason All-America team

Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence headlines The Associated Press preseason All-America team, and he has two teammates from the top-ranked Tigers with him on the first team. Lawrence, the first freshman to quarterback to lead a team to a national championship in more than 30 years, was joined on the first-team offense by Clemson running back Travis Etienne in the list released Tuesday and presented by Regions Bank . Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons was a first-team selection on defense. Clemson and No. 2 Alabama tied for the most first-team selections with three.

Wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, an All-American last season, was selected to the preseason first team, along with defensive lineman Raekwon Davis and linebacker Dylan Moses. Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, the Heisman Trophy runner-up, was selected to the second team.

Led by Alabama, the Southeastern Conference placed eight players on the first team, one more than the Big Ten. The AP All-America team is sponsored by Regions Bank this season, the first time the venerable player honor roll that dates to 1925 has ever had a presenting sponsor.

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Trevor Lawrence, sophomore, Clemson. Running back — Jonathan Taylor, junior, Wisconsin; Travis Etienne, junior, Clemson. Tackles — Andrew Thomas, junior, Georgia; Walker Little, junior, Stanford.

Guards — Shane Lemieux, senior, Oregon; Ben Bredeson, senior, Michigan. Center — Tyler Biadasz, junior, Wisconsin. Tight end — Albert Okwuegbunam, junior, Missouri. Wide receivers — Jerry Jeudy, junior, Alabama; Tylan Wallace, junior, Oklahoma State.

All-purpose player — Rondale Moore, sophomore, Purdue. Kicker — Andre Szmyt, sophomore, Syracuse. DEFENSE Ends — Chase Young, junior, Ohio State; A.J. Epenesa, junior, Iowa. Tackles — Derrick Brown, senior, Auburn; Raekwon Davis, senior, Alabama.

Linebackers — Dylan Moses, junior, Alabama; Isaiah Simmons, junior, Clemson; Joe Bachie, senior, Michigan State. Cornerbacks — Bryce Hall, senior, Virginia; Paulson Adebo, junior, Stanford. Safeties — Grant Delpit, junior, LSU; Andre Cisco, sophomore, Syracuse.

Punter — Braden Mann, senior, Texas A&M. SECOND TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Tua Tagovailoa, junior, Alabama. Running backs — D'Andre Swift, junior, Georgia; Eno Benjamin, junior, Arizona State. Tackles — Trey Adams, senior, Washington; Calvin Throckmorton, senior, Oregon.

Guards — Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame; John Simpson, senior, Clemson. Center — Nick Harris, senior, Washington. Tight end — Jared Pinkney, senior, Vanderbilt. Wide receivers — Laviska Shenault Jr., junior, Colorado; Justyn Ross, sophomore, Clemson.

All-purpose player — CeeDee Lamb, junior, Oklahoma. Kicker — Rodrigo Blankenship, senior, Georgia. DEFENSE Ends — Kenny Willekes, senior, Michigan State; Julian Okwara, senior, Notre Dame. Tackles — Leki Fotu, senior, Utah; Marvin Wilson, junior, Florida State.

Linebackers — Paddy Fisher, junior, Northwestern; Evan Weaver, senior, California; Shaquille Quarterman, senior, Miami. Cornerbacks — Kristian Fulton, senior, LSU; CJ Henderson, junior, Florida. Safeties — Alohi Gilman, senior, Notre Dame; Jordan Fuller, senior, Ohio State.

Punter — James Smith, junior, Cincinnati.

Follow Ralph D. Russo at and listen at

More AP college football: and

Sponsored Content